History & Background

Elgin Middlesex Oxford Purchasing Co-operative

During the Summer and Fall of 1997 informal meetings / discussions began between the Executives of three Purchasing Groups (London, St Thomas / Elgin, and Oxford) to determine the possibility of amalgamating the three groups into one larger group.
In the spring of 1998, the respective groups finalized the formation of a new Group called EMOP (Elgin, Middlesex, Oxford Purchasing Co-op). It was decided that all former groups would dissolve by resolution by June 9, 1998 and that all Agencies wishing to be part of the new Group would need to forward Agency resolutions by June 30, 1998.
It was also decided that a Chairperson would be chosen from one of the three current chairs. The three chairs met and elected John Nanni (London) to the position of Chair, with Marg Clowes (Oxford) and Carol Ewaskiw (Elgin) as first and second Vice Chairs respectively.This format would continue for the future ensuring all three areas would have equal representation on the Executive. Originally the Chairperson would hold office for a one year period and each Vice Chair would move up in position. An election would be held to fill the position of second Vice Chair for the outgoing Chairperson from that geographical area. At the November 14, 2001meeting, a motion was passed to amend the Chair and Vice Chair positions term of office to be extened to a two year term.
On November 5, 1998 the first official meeting of the newly formed Elgin/Middlesex/Oxford Purchasing co-operative was held at St Thomas City Hall, 545 Talbot St, 2nd floor room 204. 
25 agencies were represented:
Aylmer, Town of
Oxford, County of
Central Elgin Municipality
St Thomas, City of
Elgin Assoc. for Community Living
St Thomas Senior’s Centre
Elgin, County of
St Thomas Public Library
Family & Children Services of Elgin
St Thomas P.U.C.
Elgin-St Thomas Health Unit
Thames Valley District School Board
Fanshawe College
Tillsonburg District Memorial Hospital
Healthcare Materials Management Services London
University of Western Ontario
London, City of
Upper Thames River Conservation Authority
London Hydro
Woodstock, City of
London Regional Art & History Museums
Woodstock Police Services
London Transit
Woodstock P.U.C.
Malahide Township
In addition the following agencies were also members but not present at the meeting:
London & District Catholic School Board
Tillsonburg, Town of